FDC: Fuji Five Lakes in Japan

This first day cover from Japan features five stamps, each stamp commemorating one of the five lakes around Mount Fuji. The lakes were created by volcanic eruptions (Mount Fuji is an active volcano). This very beautiful area is called the Five Lakes region.

FDC Japan 1999-07-01 Five Lakes

Country: Japan
Prefecture: Yamanashi
Date of Issue: 1st July 1999

Stamp Details

Top to bottom:

This issue is a Prefecture issue from Yamanashi Prefecture. A Prefecture is a local administrative area in Japan (there are 47 in total). Prefecture issues are focused on commemorating local places. They are called furusato stamps, which means hometown stamps.

2 thoughts on “FDC: Fuji Five Lakes in Japan

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: